October 20, 2021

Volunteers recognized by Boy Scouts for service

Photo provided by Liam Murphy

Liam Murphy of Ithaca, left, district chairman, Michael Hughes of Little York, district first vice-chairman and David Gross of Dryden, recipient of the District Founder’s Award.

This story appeared in the May 5, 2018 edition of the Cortland Standard. To become a subscriber, email us, or call us at (607) 756-5665. Back issues available by request.

Boy Scouts recognized outstanding service by both Scouts and their adult supporters at a recent Dryden dinner.

The Taughannock District gave its highest honor, the Award of Merit, to Michelle Lake of Homer and Roger Garnett of Lansing at the April 27 event.

Lake recently completed her term in chairing the committee overseeing the award of Eagle Scout rank for Tompkins and Cortland counties.

Garnett, a former Scoutmaster of Lansing’s Troop 48, most recently helped to program an “Auto-ree” at the Central New York Living History Museum in Cortlandville, where he shared his century-old horseless carriage.

McGraw’s Pack 91 received the Commissioner’s Distinguished Unit Award for its continued growth in promoting Cub Scouting.

Pack 85 in Homer nominated the Homer Police Department for the Good Turn Award for its services to Cub Scouts.

The Founder’s Award was given to David Gross of Dryden for decades of service and to his tireless efforts in improving Camp Barton, where generations of Scouts have learned to swim, hike, tie knots, self-sufficiency and teamwork.

Christopher Delage of Homer and Chris Ryan of McGraw received the Order of the Gorget. They were joined by the “76’er” Patrol of Hanlon Hulle and Jacob McAvoy.

Dominic Mikula and Greg Marion of Trumansburg, Anthony Lynch, Jonathan Thornton and Matthew Perry of Ithaca and Ian Cameron and Tristan Scovile of Ithaca’s Sea Scout Ship 25, all were recognized for living up to Scouting’s ideals by their units.

Nine adults were named to the “Patriot Patrol”: Michael Hughes of Little York, Jane Converse of Cortland, Robin Stedinger of Ithaca, Lynn Greene of Lansing, Ed Greenblatt of Cortland, Kathleen Gross of Dryden, Ben Brown of Ithaca, Mike Stoll of Cortland and Tom Szebenyi of Newfield.

To find out more about Scouting, visit TCScouts.org, bpcouncil.org or call the Baden Powell Council office at 877- 674-8876.