December 1, 2021

Trojan duo earn all-state honors

Boys’ All-State Lacrosse

A pair of Homer Central seniors were named the to New York State Sportswriters Association Boys’ Lacrosse Small School All-State team.

Trojan attackman Dante Yacavone and Vinny Basile were both named to the Small School Second team.

Yacavone had 90 points this season to lead the team in points on 56 goals and 34 assists. He shares the school’s all-time career scoring mark with 267 points after 171 goals and 96 assists.

Basile led the team in goals scored with 60 and was second in points with 80. He finished fifth on the alltime scoring list with 216 goals on 151 goals and 65 assists.

NYSSWA Small School First Team honors went to Akron senior midfielder Owen Hill, who was named the Small School Player of the Year.

Hill was joined on the first team by Brian Reda (Pleasantville-Section 1, Sr., Attack), Kevin Winkoff (Cold Spring Harbor-8, Sr., Attack), Xavier Arline (Shoreham-Wading River-11, So., Attack), Mike Bienkowski (Islip- 11, Jr., Midfielder), Griffin Cook (Jamesville-DeWitt-3, Sr., Midfielder), Declan McDermott (Pleasantville-1, Sr., Midfielder), Ethan Rall (Islip-11, Sr., Midfielder), Teddy McLoughlin (Islip-11, Sr., Defender), Greg Wells (Christian Brothers Academy-3, Jr., Defender), Thomas Urena (Lynbrook-8, Sr., Defender) and Jacob Drennen (Geneva-5, Sr., Goalie).

Joining Yacavone and Basile from Sections Three and Four on the Small School Division Second Team was Patrick Hackler (Skaneateles-3, Jr., Midfielder)

Other section Three and Four Small School All-State selections (by team):

Third team: Bryce Johnson (General Brown-3, Jr., Attack), Nick Conklin (Johnson City-4, Sr., Attack);

Fourth team: Thomas Bragg (Cazenovia-3, Sr., Attack), Sean Wiser (Chenango Forks-4, Sr., Attack), Gabe Van Order (Marcellus-3, Sr., Midfielder)

Fifth team: Devin Lee (Clinton-3, Sr., Goalie).

Section Three had two players named to the NYSSWA Large School All-State First Team.

Joining the Ward Meville senior co-players of the year, Zach Hobbes (midfielder) and Matt Grillo (attack) were Baldwinsville senior midfielder Peter Fiorini and West Genesee senior midfielder Thomas Baker.

Other Section Three and Four players selected as Large School All-Staters were (by team):

Second team: Jack Morin (Auburn- 3, Sr., Midfielder), Jacob Piseno (Liverpool-3, Jr., Defender);

Third team: Ryan Sposito (Ithaca-4, Sr., Midfielder); James Morris (Vestal-4, Sr., Defender);

Fourth team: Derrek Madonna (East Syracuse Minoa-3, Sr., Attack), Ryan Smith (West Genesee-3, Sr., Midfielder)

Fifth team: Cian Collins (Corning-4, Sr., Midfielder), Ben Dwyer (Baldwinsville-3, Sr., Defender);

Sixth team: Kevin Sheehan (West Genesee-3, Sr., Attack), Nick Papa (Fayetteville-Manlius-3, Sr., Midfielder), Zach VanValkenburg (Fayetteville-Manlius-3, Sr., Midfielder)

Seventh team: Brendyn Hogue (Corning-4, Jr., Attack), Max Rosa (West Genesee-3, Jr., Midfielder), Quinn Webster (Vestal-4, Sr., Midfielder), Dan Boland (East Syracuse Minoa-3, Sr., Midfielder)

Eighth team: Parker Hogan (Auburn-3, Sr., Goalie).