October 23, 2021

Trojans’ lacrosse stars net first-team selections

Trojans’ Riter, Roos honored as first-team selections

On the strength of its .500 overall and league record, Homer Central girls’ lacrosse was well rewarded when the OHSL Liberty Division all stars were announced.

The Trojans were led by the high-scoring duo of junior attack Mattie Riter and freshman midfielder Kloey Roos on the first team. Three more Homer players were second team selections and six players earned honorable status.

“It is a great honor to have coaches notice our players and bring them up at our meeting,” Homer cocoach Morgan Seibel said. “While we get to see them the entire season others only get a 50-minute glimpse. We are so proud of all these players did this season and the hard work they put into each day.”

Riter had 62 goals and 45 assists this season for 107 points as the team scored a new single season record of 238 goals. Her assists and points this season are both new school records. Roos added 65 goals and 13 assists for 78 points, the second highest point total on the team this spring.

Joining Riter and Roos as Liberty Division First Team all stars are junior attack Rebecca Gilhooley, senior defender Camille Argentieri, freshman goalkeeper Franny Argentieri and senior attack Caroline Miller from Westhill; sophomore attack-midfielder Bella Roberson, sophomore defender Bella Deregis, freshman attack Gracie Britton, senior defender Paige Alletzhauzer, senior defender Avery Penoyer and junior midfielder Tatumn Kohlbrenner from Christian Brothers Academy; the Marcellus senior trio of midfielder Anna Vetsch, defender Emma Hutchings and goalkeeper Kenai Cameron, plus Mexico senior midfielder Brionna Emery. Bob Elmer from Westhill was named Coach of the Year.

Homer junior attack Caraline Riley, junior defender Allyson Natale and sophomore midfielder Katlyn Sovocool were named Liberty Division Second Team all stars.

Joining the Trojan trio on the second team are the Westhill junior trio of defender Ryan Murphy, defender Alice Mahoney and midfielder Reilly Geer; the CBA trio of sophomore attack Riley Taylor, junior attack-midfielder Gia Anthony and senior goalkeeper Iris Vinal; the Marcellus threesome of senior defender Katy Wangsness, senior defender Natalie Clere and junior attack Sarah Hutchings; Chittenango junior midfielders Ally Shoemaker and Rhonee Shea Pal, plus the Mexico duo of sophomore defender Molly Henderson and junior attack Isabella Brownell.

Six Homer players received honorable mention status. They were junior defender Taylor Netti, senior defender Reagan O’Donnell, sophomore midfielder Annika Roos, senior attack Karly Roos, junior attack Madison Sciera and senior defender Elle Fellows.

Other mentions were senior midfielder Kendra Mac- Caull, freshman attack Grace Winkler, freshman attack Gianna Zerrillo, junior midfielder Ellie Masterpole and junior midfielder Julia Lasher from Westhill. the CBA senior midfielder pair of Grace Glowaki and Amanda Winn, the Marcellus foursome of junior attack Laura Canny, senior attack Madison Green, junior midfielder Lillian Locastro and junior defender Kaitlyn Kemp, Mexico sophomore midfielder Ayva Ouderkirk, senior goalkeeper Rachel Rose, freshman midfielder Mackenzie Craig, junior midfielder Chloe LaDuc and senior midfielder Trinity Burton, plus the Chittenango trio of senior attack Julia Pynn, senior defender Ellie Knox and sophomore attack Julia Graham.

Seibel and co-coach Martha Riley comment on their first team all stars:

Seibel on Roos: “She was a vital part of all pieces on the field, draw control, transition, fast break, attack and defense. This player’s spirit and energy are contagious to all those who are around her. She came to games and practices excited to be there. Not only did she push herself to improve but did the same to those around her. She has a true passion for the game and we cannot wait to see what she does in the future of the program.”

Riley on Riter: “When thinking about who to choose for this award we were looking for someone who plays an active role, is the quarterback of our offense and takes opportunity to push herself and her teammates for the win, Mattie is a shoe in for this award. Mattie is always taking the opportunity to drive to goal or create opportunities for her fellow teammates. She is an obvious threat on our offense and our opponents make sure to shut her off. There have been games where she will pull herself out of the set up to create more opportunities for her teammates. We are all proud of what you have accomplished and can’t wait to see you break records next year.”

Homer’s Yacavone, Denkenberger named first-team all-stars

The Homer Central boys’ lacrosse team had two players recognized by league coaches as OHSL Liberty Division First Team all stars.

Junior attackman Dylan Yacavone and senior face-off specialist John Denkenberger were honored for their outstanding seasons.

Yacavone led the Trojans scoring list this season with 50 goals and 21 assists for 71 points.

“I thought this was a great selection,” Homer coach Tom Cottrell said. “Our league was stacked when you consider CBA, Westhill and Marcellus are all in our division. Dylan was a third scoring option one year ago, but he was our top threat on a young team this season. He drew the attention of the best defenders and a lot of their focus and he still was able to score 50 goals and have over 20 assists. Dylan was well deserving of this honor.”

Denkenberger did score three goals this season, but it was is contributions as a face-off man that earned him his accolades. He won 172 of 276 attempts for a .623 percent win rate.

“The coaches agreed on what we talked about all season long,” Cottrell said. “John was one of the best face-off guys in the league and section. He was a large part of our success this season. He played in pain form a shoulder injury in football that cost him his wrestling season, but went out there and contributed. He made it difficult for opponents to go on long scoring runs by winning the face-off and giving us ball possession.”

Joining Yacavone and Denkenberger on the OHSL Liberty Division first team roster are junior attack Preston Taylor, junior attack Wyatt Auyer, junior midfielder Ryan MacKenzie, senior defender Greg Wells, senior defender Tom Caputo and sophomore specialist Brockton Bowler from Christian Brothers Academy, senior midfielder Charlie Bolesh and senior defender Wyatt Lavigne from Westhill, plus senior midfielder Liam Tierney and senior goalkeeper Rob Seeley from Marcellus.

Despite missing the later part of the season, Homer senior long-stick specialist Zach Mallory is an OHSL Liberty Division second-team all-star.

Joining him on that squad are junior attack Colin Kelly, junior midfielder Sam Bonacci, senior midfielder Joey Matheson, senior defender Matt Buck and junior goalkeeper Z.J.. Shahin from CBA, sophomore attack Will Delano, senior attack Jack Grooms, junior defender Garvin Kinney and junior specialist Ryan Durand from Westhill, along with junior midfielder Luke Ingianni and junior defender Brian Suarez from Marcellus.

Among the Liberty Division honorable mentions was the Homer quartet of junior attack Connor Matthews, junior midfielder Dante Patriarco, senior defender Chase Kiner and freshman goalkeeper Colin Perks.