December 8, 2021

Wilbur earns first-team star status

OHSL Liberty Boys’ Basketball

basketball stock image

Homer Central’s Jarrett Wilbur was named an OHSL Liberty American Division First Team All-Star by the league’s coaches.

Wilbur’s teammates Mikyle Franklin and Derek Fickett were honored as well. Senior guard Franklin was a second team selection and senior forward Fickett was an honorable mention.

Wilbur averaged 15 points, 9.1 rebounds, 1.2 assists and 2.1 blocks per game this season as a junior forward.

“I am really proud of these three student-athletes,” Homer coach Rex Ryan said. “It’s no wonder they were selected as captains by their peers. They led by example and that leadership led us to a very successful season. I wish Mikyle and Derek the best of luck moving forward and can’t thank them enough for being great senior leaders. I look forward to working with Jarrett and pushing him to be the best possible version of himself again next season.”

Joining Wilbur as Liberty American Division First Team all-stars were Syracuse Institute of Technology senior Edwin Seton, Westhill senior Zechariah Brown, Chittenango freshman Tyrus Kelly and Mexico senior William Ruby.

Liberty American Division Second Team selections were Franklin (12.7 points, 3.4 rebounds, 7.4 assists per game), Westhill senior Elliott Rouse, Syracuse Tech senior Terrell McLaughlin, Syracuse Tech senior Azi Goodrich and Chittenango sophomore Bryce Bishop.

Honorable mentions are Fickett (10.9 points, 10.2 rebounds, 1.8 assists per game), Westhill junior James Kelly, Chittenango senior Alexander Lum, Mexico senior Noah Hiller and Chittenango senior Vrian Schermerhorn.

OSHL Liberty National Division First Team all-stars featured Solvay senior Brock Bagozzi, Skaneateles junior Nate Fouts, Jordan-Elbridge senior Dakota Holbrook, Marcellus junior Matt Kershaw, Skaneateles senior Jack Whirtley and Solvay senior Elijah Wright.

Liberty National Division Second Team selections are Marcellus senior Luke Ingianni, Marcellus senior Jared Sammon, Cazenovia freshman Alex Moesch, Cazenovia senior Ryan Romagnoli and Solvay senior Justin Scott.

Honorable mentions are Solvay senior Jaimen Bliss, Hannibal junior Jack Smith, Hannibal junior Kyle Dixon, Jordan-Elbridge senior Alex Pond, Jordan-Elbridge junior Tyler Waldron and Skaneateles junior Andrew Neumann.

Liberty Central Division First Team all-stars are Christian Brothers Academy sophomore Dan Anderson, Bishop Ludden senior Mykell Kaigler, Bishop Grimes junior Jack Gutchess, Syracuse Academy of Science senior Zachaeus Smith and CBA junior Sam Haas.

Liberty Central Division Second Team all-stars are Bishop Ludden senior Monte Johnson, Bishop Grimes junior A.J. Burnett, SAS junior Dale Mc- Millan, CBA senior Colin Kelly, CBA senior Jason Boule and Bishop Grimes senior Joe Wike.

Honorable mentions include Bishop Grimes senior Ian Denton, Bishop Ludden senior Jarin Beauford, SAS junior Marcus Pasha, SAS senior Augustine Jusu, SAS junior Owyn Blue and Bishop Ludden sophomore Nazier Kinsey.