December 2, 2021

Patriarco named to first team

Liberty Girls Basketball All-Stars

Katie Vartanian/file photo

Homer’s Gracie Patriarco averaged 14.1 points per game while recording 121 rebounds, 116 steals, 34 assists and three blocked shots.

The Homer Central girls’ varsity basketball team played one of its toughest schedules this season and the Trojans finished 6-8 in the OHSL Liberty American Division and 11-11 overall.

Based on her outstanding play, sophomore guard-forward Gracie Patriarco was named a Liberty American Division First Team all-star by the league’s coaches. Patriarco averaged 14.1 points per game while recording 121 rebounds, 116 steals, 34 assists and three blocked shots.

Homer had a pair of Liberty American Division Second Team all-stars in junior guard Katlyn Sovocool and senior guard Jerze Joseph. Sovocool averaged 7.3 ppg with 106 steals, 101 rebounds, 43 assists and seven blocked shots. Joseph averaged 9.7 ppg with 46 rebounds, 40 steals, 11 assists and two blocked shots.

“The more important piece is that we, as a team, had the most girls receive votes,” Homer coach C.J. Kudla said. “Six of our players received allleague votes, more than any other team in the league. This speaks volumes of the team and family standard that we set.”

Joining Patriarco as Liberty American Division First Team all-stars were Westhill senior Jenna Larrabee (Player of the Year), Chittenango senior Ally Shoemaker, Chittenango senior Cassidy Kelly, Westhill senior Erica Gangemi, and Solvay sophomore Tazz Pitts. Sue Ludwig from Westhill was named the division Coach of the Year:

In addition to Sovocool and Joseph, Liberty American Second Team selections included Mexico freshman Anyssia Ingersoll, Westhill sophomore Catherine Dadey, Chittenango junior Emily Moon and Phoenix senior Taylor Petrie.

OHSL Liberty National Division First Team all-stars are Cazenovia senior Lindsey Lawson (Player of the Year), Marcellus junior Hannah Durand, Marcellus sophomore Kathryn MacLachlan, Hannibal sophomore Julia Shortslef, Skaneateles senior Maeve Canty and Altmar-Parish-Williamstown sophomore Jordan Ostrander.

Coach of the Year honors went to Lauren Collister from Marcellus. Liberty National Division Second Team all-stars were Skaneateles freshman Maddy Ramsgard, Skaneateles, Marcellus senior Sarah Fallon, Hannibal senior Kelsey Combes, Jordan-Elbridge senior Ashlee Eaton, Cazenovia senior Julia Bauder and Cazenovia sophomore Carleigh Szalach.

OHSL Liberty Central Division First Team all-stars are Christian Brothers Academy senior Brooke Jarvis (Player of the Year), Bishop Ludden freshman Amarah Streiff, CBA junior Leana Heitmann, Syracuse Academy of Science senior Freey Pleasants, SAS senior Xy’El Bradford and Bishop Grimes senior Lora Marial. The Coach of the Year was John Cifonelli, from Bishop Grimes.

Liberty Central Division Second Team all-stars were Bishop Grimes sophomore Jenna Sloan, SAS sophomore Alexius Pierce, Bishop Ludden junior Lauren Petrie, CBA senior Emily Hall, and Bishop Ludden sophomore Kaitlyn Kibling.

Liberty Central Honorable Mentions include SAS senior Erykah Pasha, Bishop Grimes senior Rhonee Shea Pal, CBA senior Maura Claire Conan, Bishop Grimes senior McKenna Squier, Bishop Ludden freshman Ke’iara Odume, SAS senior Ajahnik Brown, CBA senior Victoria Hall. and Bishop Ludden senior Jayden Burney.