January 26, 2022

Local players earn first-team honors

File photo by Katie Vartanian/contributing photographer

Groton’s Brooke Brecht (12) was one of four local girls named IAC North Division First Team all-stars by league coaches

The Interscholastic Athletic Conference announced its girls’ basketball all-stars for the 2019-20 season. Four local players earned North Division First Team status in a vote by league coaches.

Dryden junior guard Sophia Lynch and junior forward Emma Kidney were IAC North Large School Division First Team selections.

Marathon sophomore guard-forward Brooke Tillotson and Groton senior forward Brooke Brecht were named IAC North Small School Division First Team all-stars.

“Sophia is our main point guard,” Dryden coach Laszlo Engel said. “She has really good court awareness and vision. She moves the ball quickly and is really good at finding the open player. She was our leading assist player and third leading scorer. She really understands the game. and can break it down well. She is a team leader and a captain. She is very vocal on the court helping her teammates know where they need to be. She plays very well on both ends of the court and can play any position.

“Emma is a forward with good vision and a lot of creativity. She was our second leading scorer this season. She is strong under the basket winning many rebounds offensively and defensively. She drives hard to the basket when given the opportunity. She can also play as a shooting guard when we need her to do so. Emma is also a vocal leader both on the court and in the locker room.”

Joining the Purple Lion duo as North Large School Division First Team all-stars are Whitney Point sophomore Jane Austenfeld (division MVP), Lansing senior Morgan Boerman, Whitney Point sophomore Emma Morgan and Whitney Point sophomore Reese Abramhamson.

Tillotson was the IAC North Small School Division MVP after averaging 18.9 points, 6.7 rebounds, 4.9 steals, 3.5 assists and 1.6 blocked shots per game.

“I can’t say enough about Brooke,” Marathon coach Andrew Pierce said. “Her natural athletic ability combined with her superior work ethic makes for a special talent and that’s what Brooke is. She had an outstanding season as a sophomore and the best is yet to come.”

IAC North Small School Division Second Team selections are Marathon senior forward Kristi Walley (9.9 rebounds/game, 8 points/game), Groton junior guard Emma DeMatteo (7.2 points, 5.5 rebounds, 2.3 steals per game. Team leading 16 made 3-pointers), Union Springs freshman Danielle Waldron, Union Springs freshman Payton Gilbert and Southern Cayuga sophomore Avery Colton.

Honorable mentions include Groton sophomore guard Abby Dykeman (6.6 points, 2.7 rebounds, 2 steals per game. 13 made 3-pointers, seven blocked shots), Grace Perkins from Union Springs and Sophia Bennett from Southern Cayuga.

IAC South Large School Division First Team all-stars are Waverly junior Sidney Tomasso (division MVP), Newark Valley junior Mackenna Nechwedowich, Elmira Notre Dame junior Kahlia Rivera, Newark Valley sophomore Hannah Ferguson, Newark Valley sophomore Grace Gardner and Waverly freshman Kennedy Westbrook.

IAC South Large School Division Second Team recipients are Newark Valley junior Brianna Beebe, Elmira Heights Edison senior Mikayla Bush, Newark Valley junior Allie Wandell, Elmira Notre Dame senior Taylor Vandine and Watkins Glen senior Adrienna Solomon.

Honorable mentions are Kendra Morris (Newark Valley), Paige Lewis (Waverly), Peyton Littlefield (Elmira Heights Edison), Maddie Watts (Elmira Notre Dame), Ellie Mustico (Elmira Notre Dame), Kelsey Kernan (Watkins Glen), Morgan Adams (Waverly), and Aislinn Klemann (Watkins Glen).

IAC South Small School Division First Team all-stars feature Newfield junior Katie Moravec (division MVP), Newfield junior Kelly Moravec, Newfield junior Jenna Goodwin, Candor junior Braelyn Hornick, Odessa-Montour senior Sara Gardner and Tioga junior Olivia Ayres.

IAC South Small School Division Second Team selections are Candor senior Jennah Kareem, Odessa-Montour senior Grace Vondracek, Tioga senior Chloe Bellis, Newfield junior Maura Wood-Ellis and Odessa-Montour senior Kara Reese.

Honorable mentions are Tara Perkins (Spencer-Van Etten), Eve Wood (Tioga), JoLynn Minnier (Odessa-Montour), Giovanna Rossi (Tioga) and Sophia Dutra (Spencer-Van Etten).