December 1, 2021

Sections 3, 4 football realigned

File photo Katie Vartanian/contributing photographer

Cortland and Homer will have two fewer challengers in the newly realigned Section 3 B West Division for the 2020 football season. Solvay and Bishop Ludden have dropped down to Class C this season.

With the anticipated start of the high school football this fall, there have been a number of changes in many of the divisions in both Section 3 and Section 4.

Four teams that were part of the Section 3 B West and B East Divisions have dropped down to Class C for 2020. B West champion Solvay and Bishop Ludden will drop down to the new C-2 Division while Cazenovia will leave B East to play in the C-1 Division. Another B East team is Mexico who will drop into the Independent Division this season to help rebuild its program.

The rest of the B West Division will remain intact with Cortland, Homer, Marcellus, South Jefferson, Syracuse Tech Central and Westhill.

The B East Division will consist of Camden, Central Valley Academy, Chittenango, New Hartford, Oneida and Vernon-Verona-Sherill.

Class AA will become one division with Baldwinsville, Cicero-North Syracuse, Corcoran, Henninger, Liverpool, Nottingham, Rome Free Academy, Utica Proctor and West Genesee.

Class A will grow from one six-team division to two divisions in 2020. A American Division will house Auburn, East Syracuse-Minoa and along with newcomers Christian Brothers Academy (down from AA) and JamesvilleDeWitt who returns from the Developmental Division.

A National Division has Carthage, Central Square and Whitesboro from the old A Division along with Fayetteville-Manlius (down from AA) and Fulton who returns from the Developmental Division.

The new look Class C Division goes from three to two divisions. The new C-1 Division is Cazenovia, General Brown, Hannibal, Holland Patent, Jordan-Elbridge, Lowville, Mount Markham and Southern Hills.

C-2 Division is made up of Bishop Ludden and Solvay (both down from Class B), Canastota, Clinton, Little Falls, Sherburne-Earlville (back from 8-man football), Skaneateles and Westmoreland.

Class D expands to two divisions. D East Division will have Dolgeville, Frankfort-Schuyler, Herkimer (down from Class C), Sauquoit Valley, Utica Notre Dame (down from C) and Waterville.

D North-West Division will have Beaver River, Cato-Meridian (down from Class C), Onondaga, Sandy Creek and Thousand Islands.

The renamed Independent Division will have PSLA-Fowler and Phoenix return. They will be joined be more teams from Altmar-Parish-Williamstown (return from 8-man), Mexico (B), Oswego (no team in 2019), Port Byron (C) and Pulaski (return from 8-man).

As for 8-man football, returning are Bishop Grimes, Cooperstown, Morrisville-Eaton, New York Mills, South Lewis, Weedsport and West Canada Valley. Newcomers are Adirondack (Class C) and Tupper Lake (Section 10).

IN SECTION 4, there are some big changes coming with some of the biggest in Class B. There were eight teams in Class B in 2019 but this fall there will be only three in the realignment. Those three are Maine-Endwell, Johnson City and Owego and they will be in Division III.

Class C and Class D have the big shake-ups.

Class C will have two divisions.

Dryden, Spencer-Van Etten/Candor, Watkins Glen/Odessa-Montour are still together and move to Division IV. Waverly drops down from Class B and Whitney Point stays in last year’s Division IV standings.

Class C Division III includes Chenango Forks, Chenango Valley, Norwich and Oneonta who all move down from Class B. Susquehanna Valley and Windsor are holdovers in Class C from Division IV last year.

Class D will have just Groton and Tioga returning to Division VI in 2020. Bainbridge-Guilford remains in Class D and moves over from Division V. Harpursville-Afton drops down from Class C as does Newark Valley.

Class D Division V has Delhi, Deposit/Hancock, Unatego and Walton back with Sidney joining the group after dropping down from Class C.

The Class AA-A Division has split into two divisions with Class AA Division I featuring Corning, Elmira, Horseheads and Ithaca while Class A Division II hosts Binghamton, UnionEndicott and Vestal.

Eight-man Division VII has grown a little for 2020. Elmira Heights Edison, Elmira Notre Dame, Lansing, Newfield, Oxford, Trumansburg and Unadilla Valley are back this season. Greene and Moravia join the 8-man ranks after dropping down from Class D 11-man football in 2019.