October 26, 2021

Coronavirus briefs 6/10

Metro Creative Graphics

Cortland County’s number of virus cases remains at 45

Cortland County reported no new cases of COVID-19 Tuesday, the number remaining at 45.

In total, 321 cases have been confirmed and three people have died in Cayuga, Tompkins and Cortland counties.

The Cortland County Health Department was monitoring 20 patients; none is hospitalized, although six have been. The Cortland County Health Department has received 5,480 negative test results. Forty-four people have recovered.

Tompkins County reported no new cases Monday, keeping the number at 171 cases among 13,479 tested people, the state Department of Health reported. The Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center also reported 171 cases. Two people have died.

The Cayuga County Health Department reported one new case Tuesday, raising the number to 105. One person has died; two are hospitalized. Another 51 are quarantined and 12 are in isolation.

Cooperative Extension webinars outline plans for reopening

Cornell Cooperative Extension and Cornell Agricultural Workforce Development offer a NY Forward Business Safety Plan Support webinar series with specialized webinars for farms.

The webinars, led by Extension specialists, will:

  • Walk farmers through the need for and process to complete a safety plan required for all businesses to comply with NY Forward.
  • Demonstrate project tools the extension developed to complete a plan.
  • Share resources for specific industries.

The sessions:

Today — 7:30 to 8:30 p.m. for dairy, livestock and crop farms. Thursday — Noon to 1 p.m. for fruit and vegetable farms. Thursday — 7 to 8 p.m. for retail farms.

Monday — 7 to 8 p.m. for greenhouse, landscaping and ornamental farms.

June 17 — 7 to 9 p.m. for equine farms.

For details and to register for the free webinars, go to tinyurl.com/y7cvye6p.

Cuomo: Churches allowed to reopen with 25% occupancy

Gov. Andrew Cuomo has announced that places of worship can now reopen with 25% occupancy with all social distancing protocols in place during Phase 2 of reopening.

Churches in the seven regions that have already entered phase two — Central New York including Cortland and Cayuga counties, the Southern Tier including Tompkins county, the Capital Region, the Finger Lakes, the Mohawk Valley, the North Country and Western New York — have been allowed to reopen since Sunday.